June 20, 2014

Chancellor Jimmy Cheek 527 Andy Holt Tower University of Tennessee Knoxville, TN 37996

Dear Chancellor Cheek:

As past, present, and future presidents of the Faculty Senate, we would like to express our appreciation for your decision to provide compensation to the Faculty Senate President and his or her academic unit. In addition to providing a small measure of recompense for the many hours the president works during the 12 months in office, the compensation is symbolic in that it shows your support and recognition of the importance of this role in campus governance.

All of us have participated in recruiting candidates for Faculty Senate President, often without success. Potential candidates are concerned that the position is not fully appreciated by administrators, concerned they will not have enough time to do the work of senate president while continuing to fulfill their commitment to teaching and research, and concerned that holding this office will result in a burden to their academic units. They often are not comfortable negotiating their own release time and have even been discouraged by department heads from running for Faculty Senate President because of the negative budgetary effect it may have on their academic unit. The new compensation plan should allay some of the concerns that we have heard repeatedly through the years.

We believe this policy will help us recruit highly-qualified candidates and encourage people to serve as Faculty Senate President. Furthermore, your communicating this policy to deans and department heads, as well as letting them know you value the role of the Faculty Senate in shared governance, can help current senate leaders recruit new leadership. Let us know how we can help you in those efforts. Thank you for taking this important step.

Sincerely,

Beauvais Lyons 2003-2004 John Nolt 2008-2009

Candace White 2004-2005

Louis Gross 2006-2007

David Patterson 2007-2008

Toby Boulet

2009-2010

Joan Heminway 2010-2011 David Golden

2012-2013

Steve Thomas

2013-2014

JoAnne Hall 2014-2015

Bruce Maclennan 2015-2016

cc: Provost Susan Martin