From:	Lyons, Beauvais
То:	Prosser, Rebecca A; Ownley, Bonnie H; Maclennan, Bruce J; Hutson, Sadie Pauline; Bernard, Ernest C; Spirko, Robert L; Ambroziak, A Katherine Bambrick (Katherine B. Ambroziak); Blackwell, Stephen H; Brown, Allie J; Cimino, Chris; Denita Hadziabdic Guerry; Fowler, Jennifer C; Hall, Joanne M; Hunter, Sally Beville; Newman, Shelley J; Roman, Marian W; Siopsis, George; Waller, Steven N; White, Candace L; Zomchick, John P;
	Rutenberg, Pat (Patricia); Louis Gross
Cc:	Winston, Sharonne LaKiesta; tlee35; Kramer, Andrew
Subject:	Arts and Sciences Faculty Senate Caucuses for September 6 Executive Committee Meeting
Date:	Thursday, September 01, 2016 11:01:44 AM
Attachments:	A&S Caucus Listservers 9-1-2016.docx

DATE: September 1, 2016

TO: Faculty Senate Executive Committee

FROM: Beauvais Lyons, Faculty Senate President Elect

COPY: Dean Theresa Lee and Associate Dean Andy Kramer, Arts and Sciences

SUBJECT: Arts and Sciences Faculty Senate Caucuses

This memo is intended to inform you of my concerns regarding the caucuses in the College of Arts and Sciences. There are three listservers <u>http://listserv.utk.edu/cgi-bin/wa?INDEX</u> that support faculty from Arts and Sciences in the three different Faculty Senate caucuses. The list servers were formed to assist the caucus chairs with communications about matters before the Faculty Senate, and to encourage nominations for elections each spring. The division of these caucuses reflects the three-part division of the college when the caucuses were formed, with arts (art, music, theatre) being part of the humanities caucus. They are:

A&S Natural Science Senate Caucus List (ASNSSC) The new caucus chair and moderator is Crystal McAlvin <u>cbickley@utk.edu</u>

A&S Social Science Senate Caucus List (ASSSSC) This currently has no caucus chair and moderator.

A&S Humanities Senate Caucus (ASHSC) The new caucus chair and moderator is Laurie Knox, <u>lknox1@utk.edu</u>

Working with Melissa Wauford from OIT, the caucus moderation duties have been transferred to the new chairs. I have been in communication with Associate Dean Andy Kramer in compiling information from the college to repopulate the caucus lists as soon as this is workable.

There are a few issues for the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to consider:

1. All of these list servers have been not updated in at least four years, and do not reflect the new Faculty Senate eligibility as stated in our bylaws: (1) the holding of full-time or continuing part-time appointment with the rank, or equivalent rank, of lecturer, clinical instructor, assistant professor or higher; and (2) the performance of academic duties totaling at least half-time teaching, research, service, or departmental administration. This can be corrected with a purge and bulk-reloading of the list servers using information provided by the college. Given that personnel change annually, this is something that should be planned to take place each fall, and I hope to set up systems in the College to do this.

- 2. With the original formation of the caucuses, faculty in the Department of History were put with the Social Science Caucus, the intention being to create greater parity between the caucuses. For a several years faculty from History have been elected through the Humanities Caucus, which is really their more appropriate designation. This can be corrected as we purge and repopulate the list servers and through communications with the faculty in this History.
- 3. We have asked two people from the Social Sciences Caucus to serve as chair, and both have declined. In the absence of a caucus chair for Social Sciences, I will take on the moderator role for this caucus list server, and we can add an additional moderator when/if a chair is found. Please note that to assist in recruiting caucus chairs, I have assembled a document now posted on the Faculty Senate website at: http://senate.utk.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/16/2011/07/Guidelines-for-Being-a-Caucus-Chair1.pdf
- 4. In compliance with current Faculty Senate bylaws, we will need to continue these three caucuses for the time being. In addition, the Undergraduate Council uses this tri-part division for the purposes of its representation. However, a few years ago the College reorganized into four divisions, differentiating arts and humanities. I believe that we might consider rewriting the Faculty Senate Bylaws so that the College has two caucuses for the purpose of Faculty Senate representation and elections, one being Arts and Humanities divisions (9 departments) and the other being Social Sciences and Natural Sciences divisions (12 departments). The current divisions in the College are:

ARTS: Art, Music, Theatre

HUMANITIES: Classics, English, History, Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures, Philosophy, Religious Studies

SOCIAL SCIENCES: Anthropology, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

NATURAL SCIENCES: Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics and Astronomy

The number of seats in each caucus is a function of apportionment as described in the Faculty Senate Bylaws, Article II, Section 1, F. Having 12 departmental units in a caucus is not out of line with other large caucuses such as Engineering or EHHS. The intention with this reorganization would be create greater efficiencies in the operations of the work of the Faculty Senate.

Below is my proposed revision for our Bylaws, Article II, Section 1, F, (page 4):

Other than the UT Extension, the colleges, units, and divisions represented on the Faculty Senate include: Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (Resident Instruction

and Experiment Station); Architecture and Design; Arts and Sciences (divided into three two divisional caucuses, one representing the social sciences and natural sciences, and the other representing the arts and humanities); Business Administration; Communications and Information Sciences; Education, Health and Human Sciences; Engineering; Law; Libraries; Nursing; ROTC; Social Work; UTSI; and Veterinary Medicine. The elected members and alternates from each of these colleges, units, or divisions constitute a caucus.

I propose that this change be discussed at our September 6th meeting and considered for first reading at the September 19th Faculty Senate meeting. If people have questions or concerns, please let me know. I appreciate your consideration.

Beauvais Lyons, Chancellor's Professor and Faculty Senate President-Elect

(He, Him, His)
School of Art, 1715 Volunteer Blvd.
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-2410 USA
Office: 01-865-974-3202
Mobile: 01-865-387-0542
Fax: 01-865-974-3198
Email: <u>blyons@utk.edu</u>
Hokes Archives: <u>http://web.utk.edu/~blyons</u>
UTK Printmaking: <u>http://art.utk.edu/printmaking</u>
2015 SGC International Conference: <u>http://web.utk.edu/~sphere</u>
Video Profile: <u>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Kz5_ZEOC1A</u>