Faculty Senate Committee/Council Summary Reports/Minutes for November 21, 2022 Meeting

Faculty Senate Committees

1. Appeals Committee (M. Griffin)

2. Athletics Committee (J. Chyz)

The Athletics Committee met on Monday, October 24th with eight members present including one undergraduate student committee member. The committee hosted Dr. Mónica Lebrón, Deputy Athletics Director of Championship Resources. Deputy Director Lebrón spoke with the committee and answered committee member questions. Topics covered included the following:

- •Athletics Department mid and long-range plans and vision including infrastructure improvements for women's athletics venues.
- •Athletic Department recognitions for the 50th anniversary of Title IX that essentially established the era of women's collegiate athletics and widespread awarding of women's athletic scholarships.
- •The relationship the Athletics Department would like to foster with the faculty.
- •Athletics Department and coaching staff focus on student athlete academic success.
- •Challenges for the Athletics Department given uncertainty about the future of the NCAA and developments around NIL.
- •The Athletic Department's holistic view of athletics success which involves all teams (men's and women's), not just high revenue sports.
- 3. Benefits and Professional Development Committee (S. Madison)
- 4. Budget and Planning Committee (E. Lukosi and T. Fridman)
- 5. Diversity and Inclusion Committee Report and Minutes (N. Hristov)
- 6. Faculty Affairs Committee Report (J. Laughter)

The Faculty Affairs Committee met on 31 October 2022 with 6 members present. We were also joined by Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Diane Kelly and co-chairs of the Non-Tenure Track Faculty Issues Committee Anne Langendorfer and Mark Stanley.

The bulk of our meeting considered proposed revisions to FHB \P 4. After reviewing submitted revisions from NTTFIC, amendments were proposed and accepted by the committee.

We APPROVED the revisions of FHB ¶4 and include two documents with this report for Executive Council Action:

- FHB ¶4 with revisions tracked
- FHB ¶4 revised clean copy

Please note that while we are forwarding revisions to ¶4, these have not yet been vetted by OGC. Should they return significant revisions, we will report those at a later date.

Also please note, these revisions will inform departmental and college bylaws and the development of specific expectations for promotion of NTTF.

- 7. Library and IT & IT Committee (M. Brannen)
- 8. Non-Tenure Track Faculty Issues (A. Langendorfer and M. Stanley)
- 9. Research Council (A. Steiner)
- 10. Teaching and Learning Council (B. Issa and L. Whitnah)

Information Item:

The Chancellor's excellence in teaching and mentoring/advising are now accepting nominations until December 9th. Please note that the teaching award nomination process has changed, the person being nominated will need to submit multiple documents and they should be nominated by a colleague or their department chair. Both TTF and NTTF are eligible for the teaching award.

<u>Link to Excellence in Teaching Award</u> Link to Excellence in Mentoring/Advising

Please spread the word and nominate your excellent colleagues for this prestigious award that comes with a monetary award for each winner.

11. University Systems Committee (D. Ader and A. Schoenbach)

Other Committees / Task Forces

UTK Advisory Board (J. Hemingway)

University Faculty Council / UT Systems Relations Committee (B. Lyons)

Tennessee University Faculty Senates (M. Violanti)

Executive Calendar Committee (S. Ohnesorg)

Credit Hour Task Force (E. Schussler)

Headed by RJ Hinde, we have completed a new statement for the undergraduate and graduate catalogs about what constitutes a credit hour and it is currently going through the policy committees for approval.

Police Advisory Council (M. Misawa)

There is no update at this point. The UTPD Police Advisory Council will meet on Tuesday, November 29, 2022.

BAM Allocation Review Committee (E. Lukosi)

Classroom Upgrade Committee (R. Small)

Campus Planning (J. Hathaway) - NONE

Technology Fee (M. Brannen)

University Space Committee (K. Fecteau)

Nothing to report

Honorary Degree Committee (E. Shpak, D. Alderman, Y. Liu)

COIA (B. Ownley)