Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty Affairs Committee 2022 – 2023


FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE:  This Committee concerns itself with the adoption and amendment of faculty governance policies and rules, including the development and refinement of criteria and procedures for faculty appointment, promotion, retention, evaluation, the granting of tenure, retirement, and discharge for cause. This Committee is responsible for reviewing proposed revisions and recommending changes to the Faculty Handbook and its appendices in accordance with the amendments procedures set forth in the Faculty Handbook. The activities of this Committee shall be conducted at all times in a manner consistent with the Trustees’ Policies Governing Academic Freedom, Responsibility, and Tenure, as the same may be amended from time to time, and shall be guided by faculty governance best practices in higher education, especially those identified and promoted by the Ammerican Association of University Professors.

Committee Reports, Actions, and Other Items are listed below the roster.


Faculty Affairs Committee

2022 – 2023





1. Judson Laughter, Chair Associate Professor Theory and Practice of Teacher Education
2. Thomas Berg Adjunct Assistant Professor Industrial and Systems Engineering
3. Stephen Collins-Elliott Associate Professor Classics
4. Mary McAlpin Professor Modern/Foreign Languages
5. Bonnie Ownley Professor Entomology & Plant Pathology
6. Matthew Pittman Assistant Professor Advertising and Public Relations
7. Kai Sun Associate Professor Electrical Engineering
8. Carlos Trejo-Pech Assistant Professor Agriculture and Resource Economics
9. Jessica Westerhold Distinguished Lecturer Classics
10. Zhili Zhang Professor Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering

Committee Reports, Actions, and Other Items:

September 26, 2022 Meeting Summary  

UTK College and Department Bylaws Audit February 16 2023