Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Research Council 2022 – 2023

 

RESEARCH COUNCIL:  This Council promotes excellence in research, scholarship, and other creative activity through the study and recommendation of policies. The Research Council shall initiate and support efforts to communicate an understanding of and appreciation for research, scholarship, and other creative activity to the campus community and the community at large. This Council co-administers some programs of the Office of Research and Engagement, as requested by the Vice Chancellor or the Associate or Assistant Vice Chancellors for Research. Areas of interest include research incentives and support, intradisciplinary and interdisciplinary research activities, compliance with state, federal and university regulations governing the conduct of research, rights to and commercialization of intellectual property, the broad range of research infrastructure including institutional facilities, computational support, and other research-related resources. The Research Council conducts the initial phase of the periodic review of research centers and units supported by and/or reporting to the Office of Research. Further, the Research Council shall concern itself with the institutional policy on research grants and funding, with copyright and patent policy, with protection of investigators, with the protection of human subjects of research, with the protection of experimental animals, and with policies affecting compliance of research activities with environmental and occupational health and safety requirements.  In addition, the Council shall also encourage publications and the development of specialized research facilities for intercollegiate and/or interdisciplinary uses in accordance with any other policies pertaining to research programs. The Council shall furthermore encourage media releases of research successes by UTK, UTIA, and UTSI researchers. When appropriate, the Research Council shall report its actions for approval to the Faculty Senate. The Office of Research and Engagement has agreed to provide a member of the administrative staff to facilitate meeting functions and support the activities of the Research Council.

 

 

 

Research Council

2022 – 2023

 

    

Title

Email

Department or Name

1. Andrew Steiner, Chair Associate Professor asteine1@utk.edu Physics
2. Dania Bilal Professor dania@utk.edu Information Sciences
3. Megan Bryson Associate Professor mbryson4@utk.edu Religious Studies
4. Yuri Efremenko Professor yefremen@utk.edu Physics
5. Gregor Kalas Associate Professor gkalas@utk.edu Architecture
6. Jacob Latham Associate Professor jlatham3@utk.edu History
7. Brian Long Associate Professor blong20@utk.edu Chemistry
8. Katherine Morgan Assistant Professor kmorgan3@utk.edu Nursing
9. Marcin Nowicki Research Assistant Professor mnowicki@utk.edu Entomology and Plant Pathology
10. Angelica Palomino Associate Professor apalomin@utk.edu Civil and Environmental Engineering
11. Sean Schaeffer Associate Professor sschaef5@utk.edu Biosystems Engineering
12. Mariza Zhuravleva Associate Professor mzhuravl@utk.edu Materials Science
13. Ex-Officio Vice Chancellor for Research; Office of Research dcrawf19@utk.edu Deborah Crawford
14. Ex-Officio Associate Vice Chancellor for Research rgibso14@utk.edu Marc Gibson
15. Ex-Officio Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration jmerce10@utk.edu Jean Mercer
16. Ex-Officio Assistant Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation Initiatives bradday@utk.edu Brad Day
17. Ex-Officio Assistant Vice Chancellor for  Responsible Conduct of Research spruett1@utk.edu Sarah Pruett
18. Ex-Officio Office of Research Vacancy
19. Ex-Officio Office of Research; Director of Core Facilities jphipps@utk.edu Jon Phipps
20. Ex-Officio Office of Research;

Director of Finance and Administration of Research

rthomas4@utk.edu Renee Thomas
21. Ex-Officio Office of Research; Research Development Manager jwebster@utk.edu Jennifer Webster
22. Ex-Officio Dean of Libraries or designee hollymercer@utk.edu  Holly Mercer
23. Ex-Officio Associate Vice Chancellor/CIO from OIT  joel.reeves@utk.edu

jreeves1@utk.edu

 

Joel Reeves
24. Designee Office of Information Technology; IT Manager Research Computing Support jprice5@utk.edu Josh Price
25. Designee Center for Global Engagement: Global Research: International Relations jmcgowan10@utk.edu Jamie McGowan
26. Graduate Students Graduate Students selected by Graduate Student Senate
27. Graduate Student Graduate Student selected by Graduate Student Senate
28. Graduate Student Graduate Student selected by Graduate Student Senate