Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Research Council 2022 – 2023

 

RESEARCH COUNCIL:  This Council promotes excellence in research, scholarship, and other creative activity through the study and recommendation of policies. The Research Council shall initiate and support efforts to communicate an understanding of and appreciation for research, scholarship, and other creative activity to the campus community and the community at large. This Council co-administers some programs of the Office of Research and Engagement, as requested by the Vice Chancellor or the Associate or Assistant Vice Chancellors for Research. Areas of interest include research incentives and support, intradisciplinary and interdisciplinary research activities, compliance with state, federal and university regulations governing the conduct of research, rights to and commercialization of intellectual property, the broad range of research infrastructure including institutional facilities, computational support, and other research-related resources. The Research Council conducts the initial phase of the periodic review of research centers and units supported by and/or reporting to the Office of Research. Further, the Research Council shall concern itself with the institutional policy on research grants and funding, with copyright and patent policy, with protection of investigators, with the protection of human subjects of research, with the protection of experimental animals, and with policies affecting compliance of research activities with environmental and occupational health and safety requirements.  In addition, the Council shall also encourage publications and the development of specialized research facilities for intercollegiate and/or interdisciplinary uses in accordance with any other policies pertaining to research programs. The Council shall furthermore encourage media releases of research successes by UTK, UTIA, and UTSI researchers. When appropriate, the Research Council shall report its actions for approval to the Faculty Senate. The Office of Research and Engagement has agreed to provide a member of the administrative staff to facilitate meeting functions and support the activities of the Research Council.

 

 

 

Research Council

2022 – 2023

 

    

Title

Email

Department or Name

1. Andrew Steiner, Chair Associate Professor asteine1@utk.edu Physics
2. Dania Bilal Professor dania@utk.edu Information Sciences
3. Megan Bryson Associate Professor mbryson4@utk.edu Religious Studies
4. Yuri Efremenko Professor yefremen@utk.edu Physics
5. Gregor Kalas Associate Professor gkalas@utk.edu Architecture
6. Jacob Latham Associate Professor jlatham3@utk.edu History
7. Brian Long Associate Professor blong20@utk.edu Chemistry
8. Katherine Morgan Assistant Professor kmorgan3@utk.edu Nursing
9. Marcin Nowicki Research Assistant Professor mnowicki@utk.edu Entomology and Plant Pathology
10. Angelica Palomino Associate Professor apalomin@utk.edu Civil and Environmental Engineering
11. Sean Schaeffer Associate Professor sschaef5@utk.edu Biosystems Engineering
12. Mariza Zhuravleva Associate Professor mzhuravl@utk.edu Materials Science
13. Deborah Crawford Vice Chancellor for Research; Office of Research dcrawf19@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
14. Marc Gibson Associate Vice Chancellor for Research rgibso14@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
15. Jean Mercer Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration jmerce10@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
16. Brad Day Assistant Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation Initiatives bradday@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
17. Sarah Pruett Assistant Vice Chancellor for  Responsible Conduct of Research spruett1@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
18. Office of Research Vacancy Ex-Officio
19. Jon Phipps Office of Research; Director of Core Facilities jphipps@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
20. Renee Thomas Office of Research;

Director of Finance and Administration of Research

rthomas4@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
21. Jennifer Webster Office of Research; Research Development Manager jwebster@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
22. Holly Mercer Dean of Libraries or designee hollymercer@utk.edu  Ex-Officio
23. Joel Reeves Associate Vice Chancellor/CIO from OIT  joel.reeves@utk.edu

jreeves1@utk.edu

 

 Ex-Officio
24. Josh Price Office of Information Technology; IT Manager Research Computing Support jprice5@utk.edu Designee
25. Jamie McGowan Center for Global Engagement: Global Research: International Relations jmcgowan10@utk.edu Designee
26. Graduate Students Graduate Students selected by Graduate Student Senate
27. Graduate Student Graduate Student selected by Graduate Student Senate
28. Graduate Student Graduate Student selected by Graduate Student Senate