Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Teaching and Learning Council 2022 – 2023

TEACHING AND LEARNING COUNCIL:  This Council works to advance excellence in teaching and academic advising at UTK. Areas of concern for the Council include incentives for recognizing quality instruction and advising, methods for improving instruction at a campus and departmental level, and guidelines for routine and disciplinary evaluation of teaching, academic advising, and curriculum. For example, the Teaching and Learning Council examines policy issues related to teaching on the campuses and works with the Chief Academic Officer to recognize excellence in teaching and advising. The Council works with the Teaching and Learning Innovation to run a yearly campus-wide program that involves faculty and staff in addressing issues central to improving instruction and advising. The Teaching and Learning Council works with both the Graduate School and the Teaching and Learning Innovation to develop practical means of improving and rewarding instruction and advising on campus.

 

 Teaching and Learning Council Roster

2022 – 2023 

   

Title

Email

Department

1. Bernard Issa,

Co-Chair

Assistant Professor bissa@utk.edu MFFL
2. Laura Whitnah,

Co-Chair

Senior Lecturer lwhitnah@utk.edu History
3. Jeremy Chandler Senior Lecturer jwchand@utk.edu Biology
4. Beth Cooper Distinguished Lecturer ecooperj@utk.edu Psychology
5. Bob DuBois Lecturer drbob@utk.edu Psychology
6. Susan Groenke Professor sgroenke@utk.edu Theory and Practice of Teacher Education
7. Melissa Hinten Lecturer mhinten@utk.edu Geography
8. Karen Lasater Clinical Associate Professor klasater@utk.edu Nursing
9. Christopher Lavan Executive Director of Teaching and Learning clavan@utk.edu Administrative Member
10. Scott MacKenzie Lecturer smackenz@utk.edu English
11. Sarah Mobley Lecturer smobley2@utk.edu Civil and Environmental Engineering
12. Thomas Mueller Professor tmueller@utk.edu Plant Science
13. Shelli Rampold Assistant Professor srampold@utk.edu Agricultural Leadership
14. Mia Romano Senior Lecturer mromano2@utk.edu MFFL
15. Nora Anne Vines Clinical Assistant Professor nvines@utk.edu Child and Family Studies
16. R. J. Hinde Vice Provost for Academic Affairs rhinde@utk.edu Ex-Officio
17. Ernest Brothers Associate Dean of Graduate School ebrother@utk.edu Ex-Officio

 

18. Elizabeth Pemberton Coordinator of TNVoice epembert@utk.edu Ex-Officio
19. Doug Renalds Director of Academic Success Center drenalds@utk.edu Ex-Officio
20. To Be Determined Graduate Student

Selected by Graduate Student Senate

21. To Be Determined Graduate Student Selected by Graduate Student Senate
22. To Be Determined Graduate Student Selected by Graduate Student Senate
23. To Be Determined Undergraduate Student selected by SGA and/or Director of Honors Program
24. To Be Determined Undergraduate Student selected by SGA and/or Director of Honors Program
25. To Be Determined Undergraduate Student selected by SGA and/or Director of Honors Program