Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

University of Tennessee Faculty Council

The existing President of the UTK Faculty Senate and one additional elected full-time faculty member from UTK, as well as any UTK faculty member serving on the UT Board of Trustees, are members of the University of Tennessee Faculty Council (UTFC), an organization dedicated to upholding and exercising the principles of academic freedom, shared governance, tenure, and the faculty’s primary responsibility for the university’s curriculum. The Council confers with, advises, and communicates with the President of the University of Tennessee system (and his/her staff, as appropriate) on system-wide matters of interest to the faculties and the President.


Chair of UTFC

Elizabeth Crawford

UC Foundation Associate Professor
Director, School of Professional Studies
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
204 Hunter Hall, 615 McCallie Ave.
Chattanooga, TN 37403
Term expires: June 30, 2022



UTK UTFC Representatives

UTK Faculty Senate President

Shawn Spurgeon

Associate Professor
Counselor Education
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
442 Claxton Complex
1122 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
Term expires: June 30, 2021



UTK Faculty Representative

David Patterson

Cooper-Herron Endowed Professor
Mental Health Research and Practice
College of Social Work
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Henson Hall
Knoxville, TN 37996
Term expires: June 30, 2023