Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Research Council 2023 – 2024


RESEARCH COUNCIL:  This Council promotes excellence in research, scholarship, and other creative activity through the study and recommendation of policies. The Research Council shall initiate and support efforts to communicate an understanding of and appreciation for research, scholarship, and other creative activity to the campus community and the community at large. This Council co-administers some programs of the Office of Research and Engagement, as requested by the Vice Chancellor or the Associate or Assistant Vice Chancellors for Research. Areas of interest include research incentives and support, intradisciplinary and interdisciplinary research activities, compliance with state, federal and university regulations governing the conduct of research, rights to and commercialization of intellectual property, the broad range of research infrastructure including institutional facilities, computational support, and other research-related resources. The Research Council conducts the initial phase of the periodic review of research centers and units supported by and/or reporting to the Office of Research. Further, the Research Council shall concern itself with the institutional policy on research grants and funding, with copyright and patent policy, with protection of investigators, with the protection of human subjects of research, with the protection of experimental animals, and with policies affecting compliance of research activities with environmental and occupational health and safety requirements.  In addition, the Council shall also encourage publications and the development of specialized research facilities for intercollegiate and/or interdisciplinary uses in accordance with any other policies pertaining to research programs. The Council shall furthermore encourage media releases of research successes by UTK, UTIA, and UTSI researchers. When appropriate, the Research Council shall report its actions for approval to the Faculty Senate. The Office of Research and Engagement has agreed to provide a member of the administrative staff to facilitate meeting functions and support the activities of the Research Council.



Research Council

2023 – 2024





Department or Name

1. Andrew Steiner, Chair Associate Professor Physics
2. Dania Bilal Professor Information Sciences
3. Megan Bryson Associate Professor Religious Studies
4. Karen Franck Associate Professor Family and Consumer Sciences
5. Brian Long Associate Professor Chemistry
6. Tadele Mengesha Professor Mathematics
7. Amy Mundorff Associate Professor Anthropology
8. Marcin Nowicki Research Assistant Professor Entomology and Plant Pathology
9. Angelica Palomino Associate Professor Civil and Environmental Engineering
10. Sean Schaeffer Associate Professor Biosystems Engineering
11. Timothy Truster Associate Professor Civil and Environmental Engineering
12. Mariya Zhuravleva Associate Professor Materials Science

ORIED Members (Ex-Officio)

Name Title Department
1. Deborah Crawford Vice Chancellor for Research ORIED
2. Brad Day Associate Vice Chancellor ORIED
3. Jennifer Webster Chief of Staff/ORIED Development Manager ORIED
4. Paula Wyatt Brown Administrative Coordinator ORIED

Other Members (Ex-Officio)

Name Title Department
1. David Goddard Science Writer Communications
2. Amber Roessner Faculty Senate President Journalism and Media
3. Dan Harder Chief Academic Technology Officer Office of Innovative Technologies
4. Tabitha Samuel HPC Operations and NICS Deputy Director
5. David Sholl Interim Executive Director UT-ORII


ADR Members (Ex-Officio)

Name Department
1. Suzie Allard Communication and Information
2. Katherine Ambroziak Architecture
3. David E. Anderson UTIA Vet Medicine
4. Chad Autry Business
5. Teri Baxter Law
6. Michael J. Blum Arts and Sciences
7. Ernest Brothers Graduate School
8. Doug Coatsworth Social Work
9. Bill Dunne Engineering
10. Nathan Fleshner Music
11. Holly Mercer Libraries
12. Matt Murray Baker Center
13. Hollie Raynor Education, Health, and Human Sciences
14. Timothy Rials UTIA
15. Jon Wall UT Medical
16. Tami Wyatt Nursing


GSS Representatives (Ex-Officio)

1. Jessica Barfield
2. Katrina Stack
3. Allison Jones